A Story of Awakening

Eckhart Tolle’s awakening was a full, complete awakening.  It all started from a night of deep depression and self-loathing, two thing very common in western society.

“It cannot live with myself any longer,” he thought repeatedly in his mind.

And one thought, one simple, simple thought stopped the incessant repetition.

“If I cannot live with myself, there must be two of me: the ‘I’ and the ‘self’ that ‘I’ cannot live with.”

“Maybe, only one of them is real.”

~

“I was so stunned by this strange realization that my mind stopped.  I was fully conscious, but there were no more thoughts.  Then I felt drawn into what seemed like a vortex of energy. … I was gripped by an intense fear, and my body started to shake.  I heard the words “resist nothing” as if spoken inside my chest.  I could feel myself being sucked into the void.  It felt as if the void was inside myself rather than outside.  Suddenly, there was no more fear, and I felt myself fall into the void. …

“I was awakened by the chirping of a bird outside the window.  I had never heard such a sound before.  …  Without any thought, I felt, I knew, that there was infinitely more light than we realize.  That soft luminosity filtered through my curtains was love itself.  Tears came to my eyes.  … I recognized the room

How we all long for that state of completeness, of peace and utter acceptance; however, we also long to pass through the tunnel of fear and sufferring striaight to the bright, open fields of enlightenment.  And such is possible.  It is, it is.  Though it is only possible through letting go of resistance, to stop resisting the apparent ‘suffering’ of the dark tunnel around us.  When we let go, we receive safe passage to those open fields of what is.  

Once we stop longing peace and joy in the future and be with what is, we will find the peace and joy that always was and always will be present.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,577 hits
